Honorary Committee


The following is a current list of honorary committee members for the Arc of Justice Productions, Inc. film project, “American Justice on Trial: People v. Newton”


Honorary Co-Chairs


























Honorary Committee Members




Eva Paterson

President and Co-Founder, Equal Justice Society

Barry Scheck

Please reload

Susan D. Anderson

James Brosnahan

Senior Trial Counsel, Morrison Foerster LLP

Hon. Candace Cooper (Retd.)

Justice (retired), California Court of Appeal

Penny Cooper

Of Counsel, Cooper Law Offices

Jinho "The Piper" Ferreira

Abby Ginzberg

Independent Filmmaker, www.abbyginzberg.com

President, Berkeley Film Foundation

Abel J. Guillén

Councilmember, District 2, Oakland City Council


Former VP of Environmental, Health, Technical and Land Services Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E)

Ilka Hartmann

Elizabeth L. Hillman

President, Mills College

Brad Howard

Dr. Jowel C. Laguerre

Congresswoman Barbara Lee

US Congresswoman, 13th District of California

Deborah Menkart

Executive Director, Teaching for Change

Stanley Nelson

Peter Neufeld

Melvin Newton

Professor Emeritus, Merrit College

Brother of Huey Newton

Judith Offer

Playwright and Poet 


Barbara Parker

Oakland City Attorney

Former Assistant U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of California

William Patterson

Guy T. Saperstein

Civil RIghts Attorney (retired)

Author, Civil Warrior: Memoirs of a Civil Rights Attorney

Mayor Libby Schaaf

Kurt Schmoke

President, University of Baltimore

Former Mayor of Baltimore

Bryan Stevenson

Executive Director, Equal Justice Initiative

Morrie Turner (passed in 2014)

Syndicated cartoonist, Wee Pals

New York Times Tribute

Doron Weinberg

Criminal Defense Lawyer, Law Offices of Doron Weinberg

Jayne Williams

Partner, Meyers Nave Law Firm 

Assistant to the City Attorney for the City of San Leandro

McKinley Williams

Former President Contra Costa College

Anne Woodell (passed in 2017)

Please reload